Home | Contact Us | FAQ | Search & Site Map | Link to Us
Sign In | Join | Other 45 Sites in Network
Home
Discussion Groups
General
GeneralCardiologyVisionDentistryPharmacyLaboratoryNutritionAlternative
Diseases and Disorders
AIDSAlzheimer'sArthritisAsthmaCancerBreast CancerDiabetesEpilepsyGlaucomaHepatitisHerpesLupusProstate BPHProstate CancerProstatitisSinusitisTinnitus

Medical Forum / Diseases and Disorders / Herpes / December 2004

Tip: Looking for answers? Try searching our database.

How to make ColdSoreGone... gone!

Thread view: 
Enable EMail Alerts  Start New Thread
Thread rating: 
M.L.S. - 10 Dec 2004 04:30 GMT
Just looking around a little and it looks like www.coldsoregone.com
is hosted by a company called Savvis, and like all responsbile
hosting services they have an Acceptable Use Policy (AUP), which, in
their case, is located at...

http://www.savvis.net/customer/aup.html

... and quite clearly states:

<!--

2. Usenet (also known as Netnews or Newsgroups) Abuse

A.  SAVVIS recommends that users not post to any newsgroup until
they have familiarized themselves with the subjects, established
guidelines, and restrictions of such newsgroups. All Usenet
guidelines and restrictions are incorporated herein by reference,
and users of SAVVIS networks agree to adhere to such guidelines
unconditionally.

B.  Without limitation of the foregoing, it is strictly prohibited
to engage in any of the following activities:

    Making any posting for commercial purposes (including
    without limitation the pointing to specific URLs for
    commercial purposes), except where such postings are
    expressly permitted under the charter and/or Frequently
    Asked Questions (FAQ) of an applicable newsgroup.

<snip>

-->

Savvis's remedies are listed, but not limited, as...

<!--

SAVVIS may suspend and/or terminate, without liability, a Customer’s
Service at any time for any failure of Customer, its representatives
or its users to comply with this policy or for engaging (or
permitting others to engage) in a Prohibited Activity (as determined
by SAVVIS, in its reasonable discretion).

SAVVIS may deny all traffic from known IP address blocks that
support indiscriminate port scanning programs such as ProxyHunter,
or other unlawful activity, for the purpose of preserving Customer’s
system and network resources.

SAVVIS reserves the right to charge the Customer and Customer agrees
to pay to SAVVIS any and all third party costs, fines, fees or
levies SAVVIS incurs as a result of Customer or an end user engaging
in a Prohibited Act.

SAVVIS reserves the right to, where feasible, implement technical
mechanisms to prevent a Prohibited Activity. Nothing in this
Acceptable Use Policy limits SAVVIS’ rights and remedies (available
at law or in equity) in any way with respect to any Prohibited
Activity.

-->

Complaints about Allen and ColdSoreGone may be sent to:

abuse@SAVVIS.net

Please be sure to include the full headers of one or two posts.

Additionally, Allen appears to be posting from a Verizon account,
and guess what?  Verizon has an Acceptable Use Policy, too.  It's
located at:

http://www.verizon.net/policies/vzcom/tos_popup.asp

and says, amongst other things...

<!--

3. You may NOT use the Service as follows:

[...]

(d) to bombard individuals or newsgroups with uninvited
communications, data or information, or other similar activities,
including but not limited to "spamming", "flaming" or denial or
distributed denial of service attacks;

(e) to transmit unsolicited voluminous emails (for example,
spamming) or to intercept, interfere with or redirect email intended
for third parties using the Service;

[...]

(g) to post information on newsgroups which is not in the topic area
or charter (e.g. off-topic posting) of the newsgroup;

[...]

You must familiarize yourself with the subjects and established
guidelines and restrictions of any newsgroup in which you
participate and we reserve the right, in our sole discretion to
terminate your Service in the event you violate newsgroup guidelines
or restrictions.

-->

Complaints about Allen and ColdSoreGone may be sent to:

abuse@verizon.net

ColdSoreGone... gone.

<evil cackle>

Mike
ColdSoreGone.com - 10 Dec 2004 18:12 GMT
Mike -

I am very sorry.

I was totally unaware that this was their policy.

I now understand why I upset so many people here.

Please accept my apologies.

Allen

> Just looking around a little and it looks like www.coldsoregone.com
> is hosted by a company called Savvis, and like all responsbile
[quoted text clipped - 110 lines]
>
> Mike
 
Sign In
Join
My Latest Posts
My Monitored Threads
My Blog
My Photo Gallery
My Profile
My Homepage

Start New Thread
Enable EMail Alerts
Rate this Thread



©2008 Advenet LLC   Privacy Policy - Terms of Use
This website includes both content owned or controlled by Advenet as well as content owned or controlled by third parties.